About The SCA

The Society for Creative Anachronism is an international organization that is dedicated to the study and re-creation of the pre 17th century world.

The SCA is dedicated to taking historical events and methods and creating what we like to call the “Current Middle ages.”

Such activities include, but are certainly not limited to:

  • Heavy Combat Fighting
  • Fencing
  • Combat Archery
  • Target Archery
  • Throwing Weapons
  • Any Arts & Any Science
  • Service


Heavy Combatants wear real armor, yet they do not fight with live steel. For the safety of our participants, our weapons are made out of rattan. This is a hard wood similar to bamboo. Though we use wood, the danger (and fun) of the sport should not be diminished. There are minimum armor requirements for the combatants safety (as you’re going to need it.) We fight with the same martial styles and tenacity as combatants would in history. This is a world of chivalry, as well as prowess and honor through tests of strength.

The SCA also offers fencing to those who prefer a more finesse sport. SCA fencers must wear armor that passes a puncture test. Rapiers must be a certain flexibility as to ensure they wont break under certain pressure. However, if you’re a fan of being a dashing gentleman, perhaps you’d be suited for our rapier combat!

Does both of these sports appeal to you? Do you want to fence and shoot archery? Do you want to fight and throw weapons? Do you want to do all of the above, as well as to work toward your laurel? You can! The possibilities are endless.

How the SCA works:

There are 20 Kingdoms worldwide. Each kingdom contains local groups of land. These local groups can be a barony, shire, canton, etc. The geographic location by which you live determines the kingdom/ group you belong to. For example, if you live in Morgantown, WV (and surrounding areas) then you belong to the Shire of Misty Highlands, which is a part of the Kingdom of Aethelmearc.


You geographical location may determine your local group/ kingdom,

  • Kingdom= Country (All inclusive)
  • Local Group= State (All inclusive)

Titles/ Awards:

There are 3 peerage paths in the SCA.

  • Fighting
  • Arts and Sciences
  • Service


For Fencing: Congratulations! Fencers now have a peerage all their own! The highest peerage gains the title Master/ Mistress of Defense.

For Archers: There is currently no peerage for Archers. However, archery has their own levels and steps of prestige. The highest award a target archer in Aethelmearc can currently receive is the Order of the Scarlet Guard.



Knights can be identified by their gold chains and white belts. Knights may take squires under their expertise. Squires can be identified by their silver chains and red belts. Some knights have other specifities that identify their squires.

1st Award: Golden Alce

Combatants are addressed as “Lord/Lady.” This is the first tier of the path to knighthood.

2nd Award: The Order of the Gage

A combatant with this award is addressed as “The Honorable Lord/ Lady”

3rd Award: The Order of the Chivalry (Peerage)

This is the last and most prestigious award on the path of Chivalry is a Knight or a Master of Arms. It takes many, many dedicated years to achieve this peerage. The person is to be addressed as “Sir or Master” respectively.

(Sir is used for both genders)


Arts and Sciences:

Laurels can be identified by the adornment of laurel leaves. They are dedicated to the study and mastery of an art. These arts can include anything! Brewing, Fiber Arts, Soap Making, Cooking, etc! Laurels may take apprentices to learn their trade, and other trades concerning the arts and sciences of pre 17th Century history. A laurel’s apprentice can be identified by a green belt.

1st Award: The Order of the Sycamore

The artisan will be addressed as “Lord/Lady”

2nd Award: The Order of the Fluer

Artisan is to be addressed as “The Honorable Lord/ Lady”

3rd Award: The Order of the Laurel (Peerage)

Artisan is to addressed as “Master/ Mistress”



A Pelican can be identified by the adornment of a Pelican. They are dedicated to helping others and doing the “knitty-gritty”  to make everything flow easily. There are always people needed to cook, wash dishes, run charities, autocrat, etc! The possibilities of service to the crown and populace are endless. A Pelican can take a protege, which can be signified by a yellow belt.

1st Award: The Order of the Keystone

The charitable person will be addressed as “Lord/ Lady”

2nd Award: The Order of the Millrind

The charitable person will be addressed as “The Honorable Lord/ Lady”

3rd Award: The Order of the Pelican (Peerage)

The charitable person will be addressed as “Master/ Mistress”



Yes! We have Kings and Queens! We also have Princes/ Princesses, Barons/ Baronesses, Count/ Countesses, Duke/ Duchesses, etc!

King/Queen and Prince/ Princess: This title is won by a trial of combat. The victor will earn the prestige. They spend 6 months being a Prince/ Princess, and the last 6 months of their reign as the Kingdom’s King and Queen.

There are two Crown Tournaments in each year. Each combatant will chose someone to fight for. If a man wins, he crowns his princess. If a female wins, she crowns her King. It is all inclusive. Only the best of the best fight in this tournament.

These are the heads and “governors” of the Kingdom.

Kings and Queens are addressed as “Your Majesty.”

Prince/ Princesses are addressed as “Your Highness.”

Baron/ Baroness: This title can be acquired in two ways. It can be granted via court by a King and Queen to a person who has shown excellence to the Crown and the populace. It can also be granted by becoming the leader of a Barony.

Barons/ Baronesses are addressed as “Your Excellency”

Count/ Countess: This is a title given to someone who has been King and Queen once.

Duke/ Duchess: This is a title given to someone who has been King and Queen twice or more.